Sierra Nevada Tumbler Autumn Brown Ale

Fall, one of my favorite times of year is fast approaching. With Autumn approaching that also means it’s time for Fall seasonal beers! First up on the list is Sierra Nevada’s Tumbler Brown Ale.  I love the description of this beer:

As the nights grow cool, the leaves on the valley oaks begin to turn and fall. In honor of this yearly dance, we bring you Tumbler Autumn Brown Ale and invite you to enjoy the show. We use malt within days of roasting at the peak of its flavor to give Tumbler a gracefully smooth malt character. So pour a glass, and grab a window seat to watch as the leaves come tumbling down.

For malts, they use Two-row Pale, Crystal, Chocolate & Smoked. Their hop bill includes Challenger for bittering, and Challenger & Yakima Goldings for finishing. This beer weighs in at 5.5% alcohol by volume.

This beer pours a lovely dark brown color with a white head.  The carbonation level is medium, with a full mouthfeel.  With the aroma, I pick up nice bready and malty notes. The taste is definitely malt forward with bready notes and towards the end I pick up a little chocolate. At the very end, I pick up a little bit on the hops. I always love Sierra Nevada’s interpretation of beer styles. This is a very solid American Brown Ale. I highly recommend picking up this beer at the store!

My Wife’s reaction to the beer sums it up the best: “Mmmm, it tastes like fall!”

One comment on “Sierra Nevada Tumbler Autumn Brown Ale

  1. Amy says:

    I’m not sure that I’m a huge fan of the malt flavor, but that’s just personal taste. You know me and my lust for all things Hefeweizen. This is a great beer though, perfect for cold days.

Leave a Reply

