Anadama Bread

I was in the mood to bake some bread this weekend, so I opened up our copy of the book The Bread Baker’s Apprentice. The first recipe listed was for a bread called Anadama which I have never had before.  This is a style of bread that comes from New England. The ingredients of this bread include cornmeal, flour, molasses, yeast, water and a little butter.

The night before, I made a soaker which is made up of a cup of cornmeal and a cup of water. I mixed it up, covered it up with plastic wrap and set it out on the kitchen counter overnight.

Today, when I was ready to make the dough I made the next component which is called the sponge. To make the sponge, you mix the soaker, two cups of flour, a cup of lukewarm water and yeast. Then you let the sponge ferment for an hour. After that, you mix in the molasses, remaining flour and 2 tablespoons of room temperature butter. The rest of the process is just like making regular bread.

Here’s the dough after the initial rise:

Ready to go in the oven!

Fresh out of the oven!

After it cooled for an hour, I had a slice (or two). It’s a very tasty loaf of bread! It seems a little more dense than your regular white bread and it’s got a tightly packed crumb. I think I will be making this bread again!

One comment on “Anadama Bread

  1. Amy says:

    And it was sooooo good! A total hit at work; they loved it warmed up with butter.

Leave a Reply

