Pattypan Squash

For this year’s garden I planted Patty Pan squash, cucumbers, beans and tomatoes.  Well, I planted WAY too much squash, but that’s OK because I love Pattypan! This variety of squash has a nice, buttery flavor.  My wife and I like to slice up a squash, lightly dredge it in flour and saute in some butter. In our opinion, that’s the best way to cook it!

Pretty soon, we’re going to be up to our eyeballs in squash.  Unfortunately, you cannot can summer squash. So the next best thing is to freeze it!  To prepare the squash for freezing, you have to slice it up and blanch it in boiling water for three minutes. After that, you have to shock it in a bowl of ice water.  Really, it couldn’t be any easier to do. After that all you have to do now is vacuum seal it, and stick it in the freezer!

It took me a little while to get the hang of vacuum sealing squash, but I got the hang of it.  The one thing I learned is that you can’t let it go the full cycle, because it’ll suck out too much liquid and the bag won’t seal!

 

 

Leave a Reply

