Vienna Lager

Another successful brew day is in the books! Yesterday, I brewed another lager and I decided on the recipe for a Vienna Lager from my copy of Brewing Classic Styles.  It was my second time doing a 90 minute boil, so I decided to up my total water by about a gallon since I was about a half to three quarters of a gallon short on my volume into the fermenting bucket on my last lager.

Yesterday was warm, but not too hot.  The weather forecast was calling for a chance of showers all afternoon, but I decided to press my luck and brew anyway! My friend Jim came over to hang out while I brewed and his good luck kept the rain away.  As soon as he left, it poured! 🙂

All in all, it was a very successful brew day.  I didn’t come up short in my final volume going into the fermenting bucket, and my brewhouse efficiency was 66%.  I used to be obsessed with my efficiency, but with my system I seem to be consistent in the mid 60’s.  After all, the most important part is that the final product tastes good right? 🙂

The wort is chilling in my fridge down to the pitching temp of 50 degrees.  I will be pitching the yeast tonight!

Here’s the Vienna Lager recipe that I brewed.  Happy brewing everyone!

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BeerSmith Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: North Of The Border Vienna
Brewer: Karmabrew
Asst Brewer: 
Style: Vienna Lager
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (35.0) 

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.25 gal 
Boil Size: 8.35 gal
Estimated OG: 1.053 SG
Estimated Color: 11.9 SRM
Estimated IBU: 26.8 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 66.80 %
Boil Time: 90 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount Item Type % or IBU 
5.00 lb Vienna Malt (3.5 SRM) Grain 43.37 % 
3.40 lb Pilsner (2 Row) Ger (2.0 SRM) Grain 29.49 % 
3.00 lb Munich Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM) Grain 26.02 % 
0.13 lb Carafa II (412.0 SRM) Grain 1.13 % 
1.50 oz Hallertauer Hersbrucker [4.00 %] (60 min)Hops 21.6 IBU 
1.00 oz Hallertauer Hersbrucker [4.00 %] (10 min)Hops 5.2 IBU 
1 Pkgs Southern German Lager (White Labs #WLP838)Yeast-Lager 

Mash Schedule: Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Total Grain Weight: 11.53 lb
----------------------------
Single Infusion, Medium Body, Batch Sparge
Step Time Name Description Step Temp 
60 min Mash In Add 17.30 qt of water at 161.7 F 152.0 F 
5 comments on “Vienna Lager

  1. Amy says:

    It looks so good, and I can’t wait to try it!!!

  2. thirstycommuter says:

    I know!! Well at least we’ll have the hefeweizen to tide us over until the lager is ready right? 🙂

  3. […] just posting a quick update on the progress of my Vienna Lager.  After a couple of weeks in primary, the final gravity got down to 1.014 which works out to about […]

  4. Ben says:

    Hey Thirsty,

    I just brewed this recipe myself and figured I’d search the web for others who had brewed it. How did it turn out? I used Saflager S-23, it’s fermenting at 57.

  5. thirstycommuter says:

    Hi Ben!

    It turned out really well. I’m very happy with it. It’s a definite keeper!

Leave a Reply

