Looking Ahead To 2013

Oh, what a year this has been! My wife and I welcomed our daughter Zoe into the world in September. With all the preparation leading up to her birth and being busy since she was born, I’ve managed to fit in a few brew days. What a feeling it is being a Father! My wife and I couldn’t be any happier being new parents. Well, now it’s time to start looking forward to 2013, and I’m brainstorming on what I would like to brew.

I would like to make more lagers. My next lager, I want to make a Helles Bock. I also want to make an Oktoberfest and a Schwarzbier. Lagers do take longer and seem a little more complicated, but they are fun to make. I’ve had two successful lagers already (Bohemian Pilsner and Vienna Lager), so I feel pretty confident in the whole process.

Next year, I want to make a couple holiday beers. I was thinking of doing a Pumpkin Porter for Fall/Halloween/Thanksgiving, and a Gingerbread Brown Ale for Christmas. At least I have plenty of time to find recipes for these brews!

I also want to try my hand at doing some winemaking. I want to make a couple small one gallon batches of fruit wine (raspberry, strawberry, peach), and I want to make my first mead.

Off the top of my head, these are some of the things I want to try through the course of 2013. I’m sure I will come up with more!

Until next time, happy brewing and Merry Christmas!

This entry was posted in General.

Leave a Reply

