11th Hour Coffee Stout

On New Year’s Eve, I had a new experience in brewing.  I brewed outside by lantern light! My four day weekend mainly involved watching our daughter Zoe, while my wife slaved away working at her job. After my wife got home in the late afternoon, it was go time for my last brew session of 2012! Near the end of my mash I had to break out the Coleman lantern, because it got dark! I was a little nervous about how the brew day would go once it got dark.  Well, I have to say that it was fun! The whole process went pretty smoothly, and I was done and cleaned up by 8:30pm. I thought a fitting name for this brew would be “11th Hour Coffee Stout”.

 

11th Hour Coffee Stout

 

5.25 Gallons into Fermenter

Boil Time: 60 minutes

SG: 1.052

IBUs: 27.7

Color: 29 SRM

 

8.5 lbs Pale Malt (2 row)

1.0 lbs Crystal 80L

0.5 lbs Chocolate Malt

0.25 lbs Black Patent Malt

0.25 lbs Roasted Barley

0.75 oz Northern Brewer

WLP004 Irish Ale Yeast made with a 1 liter starter

1.00 qt cold steeped coffee added at bottling

 

Mash In with 16.13 qt of water at 163.7F and Mashed at 154F for 60 minutes

Batch Sparged with 5.4 gallons of water at 175F

Starting Gravity into fermenter: 1.052 for a brewhouse efficiency of 67.7%

 

The tough part for me will be deciding what kind of coffee to use! Right now, I’m thinking of going with a Sumatra, or an Espresso blend. What do you think?

 

Until next time, Happy Brewing!

Leave a Reply

